Women’s Rugby World Cup: France with England in the 1st round

the essential
France find themselves in the squad of England, South Africa and Fiji for the first round of the Women’s Rugby World Cup which will take place in the fall of 2021 in New Zealand.

The women’s XV of France inherited from England, winner of the last two Six Nations Tournament, South Africa and Fiji in the first round of the 2021 World Cup in New Zealand (September 18-October 16) , according to the draw in Auckland.

Placed in the second hat, the Blue had to find themselves alongside a “big” in the first round, namely New Zealand, defending champion, England, outgoing finalist, or Canada, third in the world ranking .

The Prime Minister of New Zealand Jacinda Ardern, who carried out the drawing of lots, finally placed on the road of the French “Red Roses” who carried out for the second year in a row the grand slam in the Tournament.

The French women 3rd in the 2017 World Cup

At the last World Cup in 2017, the English dominated the French in the semi-final before the Blue took third place by beating the United States. The women’s XV of France has finished six times in third place, their best result so far.

World champion in 1994 and 2014, the English team, led by the best player in the world 2019 Emily Scarratt, has become an executioner for the French. Last Saturday in Grenoble, Gaëlle Hermet and her partners conceded, during a test match, a sixth consecutive defeat (33-10) against them. Les Bleues will try to end this series on Saturday in London in a second fall test match.

The other two teams placed in Group C, namely South Africa and Fiji, are within the reach of the French on paper.

For the first time since 2002, the quarter-finals will be back. The first two teams from each of the three groups will qualify as well as the two best third.

In Group A are New Zealand, Australia, Wales and a nation that will secure its place through a final qualifying tournament.

Group B is made up of Canada, the United States as well as a European nation and an Asian selection to be determined.

The composition of the groups

Group A : New Zealand, Australia, Wales, winner of a qualifying tournament
Group B : Canada, United States, a European nation, an Asian nation
Group C : England, France, South Africa, Fiji